FREN
+33 1 46 21 55 62 contact@evasionavelo.fr
FREN

Family cycling holidays in the Perigord

A young retired couple wanted to spend a week on a bike vacation with their daughter and her husband. Évasion à vélo created a trip adapted to their pace, allowing them to explore the most beautiful historical sites and vineyards in the Périgord.

The Lubéron and the Alpilles
The surroundings of Paris
Bordeaux and its region
The Cathar Country
The Périgord and the Lot
The Provençal Drôme

Here's how it could work....

THE TELEPHONE APPOINTMENT

Thibaut called us and we built our circuit together in half an hour. The exchange took place in a very relaxed and simple way. The questions were clear, precise, and focused enough to allow us to express all our requirements. It was great to be able to imagine and build our own trip!

We therefore decided to leave at the end of September on a 7-day exploration of the Périgord region, in stages of around 50 km/day with hilly terrain so as not to limit the sites to be explored, but not to overdo things either.

We also asked Evasion à vélo to base our tour around the discovery of the most beautiful historical sites in Périgord while leaving some time for the vineyards.

Evasion à vélo recommended a semi-marguerite circuit in order to have a more relaxing rhythm.

As far as accommodation is concerned, we preferred to stay in very good quality guest rooms with table d'hôtes for dinner, as we enjoy the contact and the friendliness.

And for the final touch, we wanted to have a thrill-packed day, being ready to splash out a little bit! Thibaut proposed a half-day canoeing trip and a hot air balloon flight, which really thrilled us!

The reservation

The following week we received the description with the price by e-mail. This conformed to our phone conversation but my wife and I finally decided to choose an electric bike. We then signed the modified quote and paid the deposit.

The preparations

Three weeks before departure, we received all the useful elements for our trip by e-mail and post: the highlighted map and its protective cover, a smartphone holder, a very complete travel notebook and even four waterproof covers with the Evasion à vélo logo to protect our bikes in case of rain. An another useful element: a link received by e-mail allowed us to have the route on our smartphones.

 

HOW IT WENT

Day 1 34 km 350 m + (1)

After spending the night in Bergerac, we went to the bike rental company in the morning and left our car there for the week. And of we set for a week of discoveries!

We cycled through the vineyards to Monbazillac where we enjoyed its castle and its beautiful views. Then, we visited an estate recommended by Evasion à vélo near Conne-de-Labarde where a wine- tasting convinced us to have a few bottles delivered to Brittany. We then visited the medieval city of Issigeac before reaching Faux.

We stayed in a very welcoming guest house/table d'hôtes in a superb environment.

(1) This is the sum of the elevations of all the climbs of the course

 

Day 2 54 km 675 m +

We arrived at the bastide of Beaumont-du-Périgord quite quickly and then climbed to Saint-Avit; long live the electric bike when you need to keep up with the young people! We discovered the superb abbey church of the village. We then followed a lovely little road, which led us to the medieval city of Belvès, classified among the most beautiful villages in France.

We were then a short distance from the guest house where the swimming pool awaited us, followed by an oenology course given by the "in-house sommelier" on the theme of biodynamics. We rounded off the day with a gastronomic dinner.

 

Day 3 40 km 570 m +

Today, we rode less because many visits were planned. Along pretty little roads we successively discovered the castles of Milandes and Castelnaud, the hanging gardens of Marqueyssac, the village of La Roque-Gageac and finally we passed in front of the castle of Montfort.

To top off this beautiful and busy day, we reached Carsac-Aillac and enjoyed the swimming pool and the food in the guesthouse.

 

Day 4       

This non-cycling day was dedicated to the descent of the Dordogne by canoe to Roque-Gageac, followed by an unforgettable flight in a hot air balloon with autumn colours. What a thrill!

We dined in the same guesthouse as the day before.

 

Day 5 59 km 800 m + (short variant: 54 km 680 m +)

We set off on the biggest "cycling" day, both in terms of distance and altitude. It was a good move on the part of our organizer because it was scheduled after a quiet day. We changed banks and followed the Dordogne river along a really superb road to Souillac passing in front of the castles of Veyrignac and Fénelon.

After a short tour in Souillac, we took the bike path to Rouffillac and its castle. From there, it starts to climb for a few kilometers on a lovely little road.

After Carlux, we visited Eyrignac and its extraordinary gardens, then Salignac and finally Saint-Crépin-et-Carlucet where we stopped for the night. The guesthouse was really sumptuous in a verdant setting with a large swimming pool; the reception and the board are at the same level.

 

Day 6 47 km 630 m +

We started the day by going to the church and the castle of Saint-Geniès, then reached Lascaux, a real natural wonder. Then, we headed for Montignac where we had a stroll and lunch. We hit the road again, following the pleasant course of the Vézère river, passing to Sergeac before reaching Tamnès.

Back in the guesthouse of Saint-Crépin-et-Carlucet, we spent a final and most pleasant evening with our hosts.

 

 Day 7 12 km

We reached Sarlat quickly, where we strolled and had lunch at a farmers' market before returning to Bergerac by taxi to pick up our car and return the bicycles.

Family cycling holidays <strong>in the Perigord</strong>

Price and services for this bike trip

The length of this trip enables exploring the most beautiful aspects of Périgord, even if a lot remains to be seen given that the region is so vast and so varied.

Price (excluding equipment rental): €860 /person

  • 6 nights’ accommodation in double room : upmarket guesthouses
  • Breakfast
  • Dinners from days 1 to 6 in guesthouses
  • Luggage transfer
  • Wine-tasting class day 2
  • ½-day canoeing  (the hot-air balloon ride is payable on the spot, and depends on the weather)
  • Travel kit:
    • IGN map highlighted and its protective cover
    • detailed travel journal
    • circuit available on smartphone app.
    • smartphone holder for bicycles
    • luggage tags
  • A saddle cover in case of rain

Equipment rental price: €100 / bike €200/electric bike

  • Top-of-the-range models
  • With accessories (bags, helmet, repair equipment, pump)
Family cycling holidays <strong>in the Perigord</strong>

 

Discover our destinations

Want to experience these adventures?

Tempted by these travel tales? Like to try a cycling adventure and have fun? Well, yes, you can! Customize your next cycling holiday by simply going to create your customized holiday. Even if you only have the vaguest idea, we are here to guide you.

Create your customized holiday

FREN
+33 1 46 21 55 62 contact@evasionavelo.fr
FREN

Vacances à vélo en famille dans le Périgord

Un couple de jeunes retraités veut passer une semaine de vacances à vélo avec leur fille et son mari. Évasion à vélo a confectionné un voyage adapté à leur rythme leur permettant de découvrir les plus beaux sites historiques et vignobles du Périgord.

Le Lubéron et les Alpilles
Les environs de Paris
Bordeaux et sa région
Le Pays Cathare
Le Périgord et le Lot
La Drôme Provençale

Voici comment cela pourrait se passer...

Le rendez-vous téléphonique

Thibaut nous a donc téléphoné et nous avons construit ensemble notre circuit en une grosse demi-heure. L’échange s’est déroulé de façons très détendue, en toute simplicité. Les questions étaient claires, précises, et suffisamment bien orientées pour nous permettre d’exprimer toutes nos envies. C’était génial de pouvoir imaginer et construire notre propre voyage !

Nous avons donc souhaité partir fin septembre découvrir le Périgord pour une durée de 7 jours avec des étapes de l’ordre de 50 km/jour avec des terrains vallonnés pour ne pas se restreindre dans les sites à explorer, mais sans excès non plus.

Nous avons par ailleurs demandé à Évasion à vélo d’orienter notre parcours sur la découverte des plus beaux sites historiques du Périgord tout en conservant une petite place pour le vignoble.

Évasion à vélo nous a conseillé un circuit en semi-marguerite afin d’avoir un rythme plus reposant.

En ce qui concerne l’hébergement, nous avons préféré partir sur des chambres d’hôtes de très bon standing avec table d'hôtes pour le dîner, nous en apprécions les échanges et la convivialité.

Et pour la touche finale, nous avons souhaité vivre une journée à fortes sensations, étant prêts à casser un peu notre tirelire ! Thibaut nous a donc proposé une demi-journée de canoë et surtout un vol en montgolfière, ce qui nous a vraiment emballés !

La réservation

La semaine suivante, nous avons reçu par e-mail le descriptif avec le prix. Cela correspondait bien à notre échange mais ma femme et moi avons finalement opté pour deux vélos électriques. Le lendemain nous avons reçu le devis modifié et payé l'acompte. 

Les préparatifs

Trois semaines avant le départ, nous avons reçu par e-mail et par courrier tous les éléments et informations utiles à notre séjour : la carte surlignée et sa housse de protection, un carnet de voyage très complet, et deux cadeaux en prime : un support pour smartphone et quatre housses de selle logotées Évasion à vélo pour protéger nos vélos en cas de pluie. Autre élément pratique : un lien électronique pour nous permettre d’avoir le parcours sur notre smartphone.

Le déroulement

Jour 1    34 km 350 m + (1) 

Après avoir passé la nuit à Bergerac, nous nous rendons dans la matinée chez le loueur de vélos et y laissons notre voiture pour la semaine. Et c’est parti pour une semaine de découvertes !

Nous roulons à travers les vignes jusqu’à Monbazillac où nous profitons de son château et son très beau point de vue. Puis, nous visitons un domaine conseillé par Évasion à vélo à côté de Conne-de-Labarde où une petite dégustation nous convainc de nous faire livrer quelques bouteilles en Bretagne. Nous visitons ensuite la jolie cité médiévale d’Issigeac avant d’atteindre Faux. 

Nous logeons dans une chambre d’hôtes/table d’hôtes très conviviale dans un environnement superbe.

(1) Il s’agit de la somme des dénivelés de toutes les montées du parcours

 

Jour 2     54 km 675 m +

Nous arrivons assez vite à la bastide de Beaumont-du-Périgord puis montons à Saint-Avit ; vive le vélo électrique quand il faut suivre les jeunes ! Nous découvrons la superbe église abbatiale du village. Nous suivons ensuite une très belle petite route qui nous mène à la cité médiévale de Belvès, classée parmi les plus beaux villages de France.

Nous sommes alors à courte distance de la chambre d’hôtes où nous attendent la piscine puis un cours d’œnologie donné par le “sommelier maison” sur le thème de la biodynamie. Nous terminons par sa table d’hôtes gastronomique.

 

Jour 3     40 km 570 m +

Aujourd’hui, nous roulons moins car beaucoup de visites sont prévues. En cheminant sur de jolies petites routes nous découvrons successivement les châteaux de Milandes et de Castelnaud, les jardins suspendus de Marqueyssac, le village de la Roque-Gageac et passons enfin devant le château de Montfort. 

Pour couronner cette belle journée bien remplie, nous rejoignons Carsac-Aillac et profitons de la piscine et de la table de la chambre d’hôtes.

 

Jour 4        

Cette journée sans vélo est consacrée à la descente de la Dordogne  en canoë jusqu’à la Roque-Gageac, puis un vol inoubliable en montgolfière avec des couleurs d’automne. Que de belles sensations fortes !

Nous dînons à la même chambre d’hôtes que la veille.

 

Jour 5    59 km 800 m + (variante courte : 54 km 680 m +)

Nous entamons la journée la plus “vélo” tant par la distance que par le dénivelé. C’était bien vu de la part de notre organisateur car elle est placée après une journée tranquille. Nous changeons de rive et longeons la Dordogne sur une route vraiment superbe jusqu’à Souillac en passant devant les châteaux de Veyrignac et de Fénelon.

Après un petit tour dans Souillac, nous prenons la piste cyclable jusqu’à Rouffillac et son château. À partir de là, cela commence à monter pendant quelques kilomètres sur une belle petite route.

Après Carlux, nous visitons Eyrignac et ses jardins extraordinaires puis Salignac et enfin Saint-Crépin-et-Carlucet où nous nous arrêtons pour la nuit. La chambre d’hôtes est absolument somptueuse dans un cadre verdoyant avec une grande piscine ; l’accueil et la table d’hôtes sont à cette hauteur.

 

Jour 6    47 km 630 m +

Nous démarrons la journée en rejoignant l’église et le château de Saint-Geniès, puis atteignons Lascaux, une véritable merveille naturelle. Ensuite, cap sur Montignac où nous nous promenons et déjeunons. Nous reprenons la route en longeant agréablement la Vézère, passons à Sergeac, puis rejoignons Tamnès.

De retour à la chambre d’hôtes de Saint-Crépin-et-Carlucet, nous passons une dernière soirée des plus sympathiques avec nos hôtes.

 

Jour 7    12 km

Nous rejoignons rapidement Sarlat où nous nous baladons et déjeunons dans un marché de producteurs avant de retourner à Bergerac en taxi pour récupérer notre voiture et rendre les vélos.

Vacances à vélo en famille <strong>dans le Périgord</strong>

Prix et prestations de ce séjour à vélo

La durée de ce voyage permet de découvrir les plus belles facettes du Périgord même s’il en reste encore beaucoup à explorer tant la région est vaste et variée.

Prix (hors location de matériel) : 860 €/personne

  • Hébergement 6 nuits en chambre double : chambre d’hôtes de très bon standing
  • Petits-déjeuners
  • Dîners des jours 1 à 6 en table d’hôtes
  • Transfert des bagages
  • Cours d’œnologie le Jour 2
  • ½ journée de canoë (le vol en montgolfière est payable sur place selon la météo)
  • Carnet de voyage : 
    • carte IGN surlignée et sa housse de protection
    • carnet de voyage détaillé
    • circuit sur application disponible sur smartphone
    • support smartphone pour vélo
    • étiquettes de bagages
  • Une housse de selle en cas de pluie

Prix de location de matériel : 100 €/vélo et 200 €/vélo électrique

  • Modèles haut de gamme
  • Avec ses accessoires (sacoches, casque, matériel de réparation, pompe)
Vacances à vélo en famille <strong>dans le Périgord</strong>

 

Découvrir nos destinations

Envie de vivre ces aventures ?

Ces récits de voyage vous ont fait envie ? Vous aimeriez tenter l’aventure à vélo et vous faire plaisir ? Et bien, c’est possible ! À votre tour, personnalisez vos prochaines vacances à vélo en vous rendant tout simplement sur créez votre voyage sur mesure. Même si vous n’avez pas vraiment d’idées, nous sommes là pour vous guider.

Créez votre voyage sur mesure